Poetry

When I Was Little

When I was little

You took me outside

And you told me to look up

I did

And my mind was filled with so much wonder

I felt as if I could fly

 

When I was little

You took me to the land of dreams

And you told me to imagine

I did

And my heart was filled with so much enthusiasm

I felt as though I were unstoppable

 

When I was little

You told me great stories

And you told me to listen

I did

And my eyes were filled with so much color

I felt like I was in a rainbow

 

I am not little anymore

You do not fill me with wonder

       Enthusiasm

              Or color

But doubt

And you tell me to look

         Imagine

                Listen

To you awful words of discouragement

And I do

Leave a Reply

